the seahorse – a diminutive declaration

I went with my daughter and her friends to the Georgia Aquarium last week, and of all the displays of underwater majesty there (dolphins, belugas, rays, penguins), I kept finding myself standing and gazing through the glass at the diminutive magnificence of seahorses. Little bitty, hidden-under-the-coral-reef seahorses always speak to me of our Father’s mastery over all.

image001Sorry the picture isn’t clearer (phone camera through thick aquarium glass), but can you see her? There among the brightly colored coral and stick-straight pencilfish? She wafts along, yellow-golden and regal in her willowy tiny-ness.

I gaze at her, my new-found friend, she who descended from generation after short-lived generation of her kind — ever since the fifth day of creation (Gen. 1:21.) Floating upright and beautiful in her own way, her delicate features mesmerize me through the glass.

If we’d lived before modern scuba gear, we’d never have known she existed. Like the telescope, underwater divers have brought to us glimpses of our Father’s vast creation unknown to so many generations before us. I choke up as I gaze upon her odd loveliness, awed that I have the honor of standing before her diminutive splendor.

I linger before her, caught in wonder at the mind of the Creator who fashioned her to float among the hidden corral reefs. My soul sings to Him when I consider all the worlds His hands have made. I bow before Him because I’m so thankful He’s let me, a 21st century girl, see her in all her tiny regality.

She makes me smile.

She causes me to bow in awe before Him for whom all blessing and honor and glory and might belong forever and ever.

And that’s a really good thing.

“And I heard every creature in heaven and on earth and under the earth and in the sea, and all that is in them, saying, ‘To Him who sits on the throne and to the Lamb be blessing and honor and glory and might forever and ever!'” (Rev. 5:13)

___________________________

 

 

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the seahorse – a diminutive declaration

  1. Heather Morse says:

    A perfect example of how having a Godward perspective creates thankfulness and joy…

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Jill says:

      Yes, He’s such a good God — that He would even want to create in us thankfulness and joy! And don’t we marvel that He’d use every aspect of His creation (even little bitty seahorses) to do so!

Leave a Reply

