in the mundane and in the calamity

image001

Truth to remember when your day unfolds as one of mundaneness, for the mundane often trains for the day of unexpected calamity:

“If God does not reign over the mundane events in our lives, He does not reign at all.” (Paul Tripp)

And for the day when calamity strikes, and your very heartbeat feels as if it may pound out of your chest, and to even breathe becomes conscious effort:

“God is God. Because He is God, He is worthy of my trust and obedience. I will find rest nowhere but in His holy will, a will that is unspeakably beyond my largest notions of what He is up to.” (Elisabeth Elliot)

” … He has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.'” (Heb. 13:5)

_____________________

Other posts to help us rest in God’s faithfulness, when we find that His will “is unspeakably beyond our largest notions of what He is up to.”  Better than a thousand substitutes, All the paths of the Lord, A thorn to pin aside the veil, Lean hard.

_____________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to in the mundane and in the calamity

  1. Pingback: God’s hand in every trial, small or great | Even More Beautiful

Leave a Reply

