Happy on the edge of a cliff (don’t be)

Our English Coasts, 1852 ('Strayed Sheep') 1852 by William Holman Hunt 1827-1910

Why does she wander from his care? Why does she stray from his protection?

Her shepherd risks his life to secure for her lush, sheltered pasture, yet she chooses brambles on the cliff-edge. She fills her belly with beautiful weeds, happy. But oblivious. Unaware of the poison within.

She slips. She tumbles toward danger. Un-kept and defenseless.

For if she thinks at all, she believes she does not need his care.  She spurns his pasture, his safety, his nurture.

Until.

Until she needs rescue.

Until, in fear, she cries out.

Until none other comes with aid.

For he alone has the power to save.

He alone rescues the bruised and battered.

For his care births from a love unmatched.

He loves with love unimagined.

I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep … My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of My hand. (John 10:11, 27-28)

O little sheep, cliff edges tempt. Daily.

But happy on the edge of the cliff don’t be.

____________________

Painting: Our English Coasts (Strayed Sheep) by William Holman Hunt, 1852

For another post on her rescuing Shepherd, click here, and on drifting away from His care, click here.

_____________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy on the edge of a cliff (don’t be)

  1. Pingback: A template for scripture meditation (Part 2 of “What to do when my heart grows cold”) | Even More Beautiful

Leave a Reply

