Engraved

Before the throne of God above I have a strong and perfect plea. A great High Priest whose name is Love, who ever lives and pleads for me.

My name is graven on His hands.

image001

My name is written on His heart.

I know that while in Heaven He stands no tongue can bid me thence depart.

When Satan tempts me to despair and tells me of the guilt within, upward I look and see Him there who made an end to all my sin. Because the sinless Savior died my sinful soul is counted free. For God the just is satisfied to look on Him and pardon me.

Behold Him there the risen Lamb, my perfect righteousness, the great unchangeable I AM, the King of glory and of grace. One in Himself I cannot die, my soul is purchased by His blood, my life is hid with Christ on high, with Christ my Savior and my God!

“I am graven on the palms of His hands. I am never out of His mind … He knows me as a friend, one who loves me; and there is no moment when His eye is off me, or His attention distracted from me, and no moment, therefore, when His care falters.” (J.I. Packer, Knowing God)

“Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of My hands”

Isaiah 49:16

______________

Painting: The Creation of Adam, Michelangelo, 1512

Before the Throne of God Above, by Charitie L. Bancroft, 1863

For the fuller version of the Knowing God quote, click here.

____________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

