no matter the year ahead

A year filled with joy or a year filled with trial. A year of jubilant celebration or mournful sighing. Or a year of the mixture of both. Whatever the days of 2015 hold for each us, one surety stands: God reigns. No matter the direction our particular society or our particular life goes in the coming year, God reigns. No power or principality, visible or invisible, will stop His coming kingdom.

This next year, your world around you may refuse to worship God, or call you foolish for following Jesus, or work in ever-increasing ways to diminish His name. But:

A man can no more diminish God’s glory by refusing to worship Him than a lunatic can put out the  sun by scribbling the word ‘darkness’ on the walls of his cell. (C.S. Lewis)

I’m helped as I think on the truth of this quote (and smile at the gift God gave Lewis with words). And on days in 2015, I’ll be helped as I remember it’s foundational truth: No individual or societal circumstance can in any way diminish God’s glorious end-plan for this world. If the next twelve months pass in lighthearted happiness, God reigns. And if we experience persecution or trials, He still reigns. Remember Jesus’ words?

“In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

He’ll reign in the particulars of the days ahead, both when I experience joy and thankfulness and yearn for the whole world to know Jesus, and when I experience trial, yet remember that I am cared for by the One who has overcome all tribulation. And He didn’t leave us with that encouragement alone. He who told us to take heart also provided us a peak into our breathtaking, future reality:

“Then I heard what seemed to be the voice of a great multitude, like the roar of many waters and like the sound of mighty peals of thunder, crying out,

‘Hallelujah!  For the Lord our God the Almighty reigns.'”

(Revelation 19:6)

Hallelujah! And Happy New Year! May we each, no matter the unique particulars of our year ahead, worship and glory in our Almighty God. No matter the year ahead, He reigns!

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

