knowledge too heavy

image001As a young girl, seated next to her father in a train compartment, Corrie ten Boom asked her father about sex. His thoughtful answer, protective and full of wisdom toward his young daughter, reminds me to trust my heavenly Father’s protection and wisdom. God knows when His knowledge — of the future, of His plans for me — would be knowledge too heavy for me to carry. As you read this excerpt, slow down and listen to your Father’s words to you through the words of Corrie’s earthly father:

He turned to look at me, as he always did when answering a question, but to my surprise he said nothing. At last he stood up, lifted his traveling case off the floor and set it on the floor.

“Will you carry it off the train, Corrie?” he said.

I stood up and tugged at it. It was crammed with the watches and spare parts he had purchased that morning. “It’s too heavy,” I said.

“Yes,” he said, “and it would be a pretty poor father who would ask his little girl to carry such a load. It’s the same way, Corrie, with knowledge. Some knowledge is too heavy for children. When you are older and stronger, you can bear it. For now you must trust me to carry it for you.”

For now you must trust me to carry it for you. You must trust me.

Casper ten Boom’s words comfort me. They remind me why we trust our heavenly Father. For our Father’s ways are beyond our ability to understand. His plans are inscrutable. And even though we sometimes say otherwise, we actually want them to be unsearchable. For if we were able to wrap our mind around His power and plan, He’d not be God, would He?

So we bow. We rest. We wait and pray and watch as He fights for us. We trust on days when His knowledge is too heavy for us.

For in the end, no matter our personal circumstance, no matter that nations rage and kingdoms totter, God will be exalted. Morning will dawn and we will behold the river that makes glad the city of God. Until then, whether we’re 5 or 85, we are as a young child before our Father, and our place is one of trust. We trust Him to carry it for us.

There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
    the holy habitation of the Most High.
God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved;
    God will help her when morning dawns.
The nations rage, the kingdoms totter;
    he utters his voice, the earth melts.
The Lord of hosts is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress. 

Come, behold the works of the Lord,
    how he has brought desolations on the earth.
He makes wars cease to the end of the earth;
    he breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
    he burns the chariots with fire.
“Be still, and know that I am God.
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth!” (Psalm 46:4-10)

Father, on this day, and all the days until that morning dawns, so much of the knowledge You carry about us and for us is too heavy for our finite minds to know or carry. Give us hearts that trust as a young child would, comforted by Your vast, but personal power.

You have encircled me;
You have placed Your hand on me.  This extraordinary knowledge is beyond me.
It is lofty; I am unable to reach it.

(Psalm 139:5-6)

______________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to knowledge too heavy

  1. Pingback: She’s living it | Even More Beautiful

Leave a Reply

