ever brighter or ever dimmer

image001

The path of the righteous is like the morning sun, shining ever brighter until the full light of day. (Proverbs 4:18)

And so the opposite must also be true:

The path of unrighteousness is like the setting sun, shining ever dimmer until the full darkness of night.

So the path that leads away from God (and all His benefits) is as gradual as the setting of the sun, as incremental as the slow fade of a day’s last light. At that light-faded moment, those heading along the path away from God are caught unawares. With light slowly extinguished, those who follow the ever-dimmer path suddenly step safely no longer. Lost in inky darkness, a moonless, starless night wraps their path in a blanket of black.

In the deep darkness, they do not know over what they stumble. (Prov. 4:19)

Meditate on these verses. Try to visualize the scene God sets before us: As we gain wisdom, and our knowledge about God becomes knowledge of God, our path grows ever brighter. Clouds of suffering and trial may cast dark shadows over the path, but the believer who spends time meditating on God’s Word, which is a light to her path, and with her Lord in prayer, who is the light of the world, grows in the inner person. (Psalm 119:105, John 8:12) She increases in her love for her Lord and His Word. She increases in her sense of His steadfast love and faithfulness toward her. Her path shines ever brighter as she experiences deep joy in the presence of her Lord.

When I meditate on these verses, I find myself praying, both for myself, and for others who love the Lord:

O Father, keep us. Hold us. Do whatever is needed to obstruct our straying, to stay our steps on the lighted path. Increase in us a love for your light. As the sun wavers not from its fixed course, increase our resolve to follow you alone. As the sun brings warmth and beauty, work coldness and selfish darkness out of us. We want to walk on the path of morning sun, the path of ever brighter light, the path that leads us to You on that final, full-light Day.

_____________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ever brighter or ever dimmer

  1. Heather Morse says:

    I love the image of this: ” At that light-faded moment, those heading along the path away from God are caught unawares. With light slowly extinguished, those who follow the ever-dimmer path suddenly step safely no longer. Lost in inky darkness, a moonless, starless night wraps their path in a blanket of black.”

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Jill says:

      Thank you, Heather. The image really gripped me — and I’m so glad to know it did you, too. I think the lightening/darkening path picture will especially stay with me when I fear for and pray for those who seem to be heading away from the Lord. (And I’m glad to know you got the post, as there was some sort of glitch within my blog’s publishing this morning, and this post still doesn’t show up on the home page — and I’m too technologically unsavvy to figure out the issue!)

  2. Pingback: How do we wait in the dark? | Even More Beautiful

Leave a Reply

