early in the morning

image001

Misty morning sunlight, glistening on blankets of fresh spring blooms, lifts my thoughts to the Maker of dainty flowers. My heart sings words of praise from a precious old hymn:

“Early in the morning, my song shall rise to Thee!”

And I remember words David wrote thousands of years ago. Words which to this day still catch my heart — for I remember well, even though thirty years have passed, my pit of destruction. I remember my miry bog. I remember the day He pulled me from that dark pit and set my feet upon the rock. I’m still humbled and honored. And I still tear up at this amazing thought — because of God’s wondrous mercy I  can gladly proclaim:

You drew me up from the pit of destruction,
    out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
    making my steps secure.
You put a new song in my mouth,
    a song of praise to our God.

You have multiplied, O Lord my God,
    your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us;
    none can compare with you!
I will proclaim and tell of them,
    yet they are more than can be told.

Psalm 40: 2, 3, 5

O Lord, You have put a new song, a song of praise, in my mouth. There is no one like You. From first light ’til last, none compares. Early in the morning, my song shall rise to You!

____________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

