locks and gloves and the place made for you

image001

The mold in which a key is made would be a strange thing, if you had never seen a key: and the key itself a strange thing if you had never seen a lock. Your soul has a curious shape because it is a hollow made to fit a particular swelling in the infinite contours of the divine substance, or a key to unlock one of the doors in the house with many mansions. Your place in heaven will seem to be made for you and you alone, because you were made for it — made for it stitch by stitch as a glove is made for a hand. (C.S. Lewis, The Problem of Pain)

In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.” (John 14:2-3)

Your place in heaven will seem to be made for you and you alone, because you were carefully and particularly and especially made for it.

_____________________

Related posts: ferns and summer and rays of sunlight, A longing for another place, and Made for another world. Also, Where is Heaven on Earth? by Jonathan Parnell is an excellent article on living in the here and now, in the tension of the overlap of heaven and earth, in the tension of waiting for the place made for you. Click here for that link. And, Eternal Perspectives by Randy Alcorn, is  one of my favorite books — read about it here.

___________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to locks and gloves and the place made for you

  1. Pingback: somewhere else there must be more of it | Even More Beautiful

Leave a Reply

