a gift left in the mailbox

image001She slipped the CD into my mailbox and drove away. When I found her gift, I cried quiet tears. For to be remembered by her, a gifted musician, with a gift of music, spoke to me of Jesus’ love for me. He’d been behind her thoughtful gift. He knew my pain. And so He prompted her, who knew and collected meaningful music, to give me the encouragement I now held in my hands. Then, as I listened to the treasure she’d left for me, tears flowed again — this time less quiet.

God used her hands and feet to deliver me the encouragement only His truth could give. I listened again and again to the two-hundred-year-old words set to a new, almost haunting melody. And since that day five years ago, each time I’ve heard John Newton’s old, truth-encapsulating words, they’ve  reminded and reassured.

I’ve written before about Newton’s life and the powerful words he originally penned. But Sunday, when another lovely voice sang out the same words in my church’s service, my heart remembered the Spirit-prompted gift given to me all those years ago. And as I listened, I thanked Him. My heart was again captured. And I wanted to pass on the same gift — not as a mailbox-delivered CD, but in a downloadable format — to any of you who haven’t been ministered to by Newton’s words.

So for all of you dear ones out there who need to be reminded that your Lord never allows a moment of pain in your life without His gracious overarching purpose, I include this link to Indelible Grace’s version of Newton’s riveting words. After you click on the link, the third song, titled I asked the Lord, featuring Emily Deloach, is the one.

Listen and bask in your Lord’s love for you. Think on His purposeful commitment toward you. And as you listen, know I’ve prayed God will feed and steady your soul, as He has mine.

____________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a gift left in the mailbox

  1. Heather Morse says:

    I love unexpected gifts promoted by the holy spirit and this song!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Pingback: when we exercise spiritual gifts | Even More Beautiful

Leave a Reply

