clay pots

image001

God is God. I am not.

He is the Potter, and he is certainly greater than you, the clay!
Should the created thing say of the one who made it,
    “He didn’t make me”?
Does a jar ever say,
    “The potter who made me is stupid”? (Is. 29:16)

My characteristics are precisely those He meant for me to have. I’m the exact jar of clay He meant to create. 

But now, O LORD, you are our Father;
we are the clay, and you are our potter;
we are all the work of your hand. (Is. 64:8)

 He purposes to rework all that sin has spoiled within me. 

So I went down to the potter’s house,
and there he was working at his wheel.
And the vessel he was making of clay was spoiled in the potter’s hand,
and he reworked it into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to do.
(Jer. 18:3-4) 

God is the master potter. He created me with intricate care. He now recreates with the same eternal purpose. I can trust that He knows what He’s doing.

“… can I not do with you as this potter has done?” declares the LORD.
“Behold, like the clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in my hand…”
(Jer. 18:5-6)

My affliction-caused cracks are meant to accomplish a grand and glorious purpose.

 For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.  But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us ….

So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

(2 Cor. 4:6-7, 16-18)

So on days when fragility screams from within and my cracks loom large, I don’t have to lose heart. I can remember that my momentary affliction dulls in comparison with the soon-coming eternal weight of glory. And I can radiate the light of the knowledge of God through Jesus Christ, shining as a tired little pot, yes, but shining as a fragile  jar who gladly knows the cracks are necessary.

For in worn fragility we come to understand this wondrous truth:  We’re not meant to shine in our own power, but it is Jesus’ light that shines out through each purposefully-given crack. And, as  our outer self wastes away one crack at a time, we’re able to proclaim this glorious reality:

Any surpassing power belongs not to me, but to God alone.

And that’s the grandest purpose any clay pot could ask for.

__________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to clay pots

Leave a Reply

