Do we arrive intentionally?

image001

We arrive at work, or the grocery store, at the classroom, or the kitchen counter, and in the hurry and flurry of life, sometimes we forget. We forget to arrive intentionally.

We forget that, wherever and whenever, we’re to arrive as the bearers of glorious news. We forget that we’ve been chosen as ambassadors, given a commission to proclaim words of Life!  And we forget that we’re not left to our own devices (Mt. 28:16-20, 2 Cor. 5:19-21).

We’re to whisper our way through our day. Whispers of need to the One who hears. And not only when we’re stressed or weak or weary, but each moment we arrive, we have the honor of praying to our Lord. We ask Him for the supernatural ability to honor Him in each approaching interaction.

Supernatural strength, awareness, wisdom

This may sound too simplistic, but knowing that not a word of prayer is breathed yet God observes it, we should, as we arrive and move into the lives of the people in our path, always cry out to our Source of strength. He always hears and helps.

So that, when we’re in a rush, tempted to put our heads down and plow through our day of tasks, or plow over and past people who interrupt and irritate, we do this instead:

  • As we approach our office building, running late and already worn thin from a grueling commute, we intentionally pray.
  • As we approach our preschooler, who declares his intention to thwart our authority by throwing himself on the toy-strewn floor and screaming in angry defiance, we intentionally pray.
  • As we approach (or are approached by) that person who we (when operating out of self-absorption) see only as an interruption or irritation, we intentionally pray.
  • Or even as we spend sweet time with those we love the most, we intentionally pray.

We pray something like this:

Oh Father, use my life today. Help me to remember that interruptions are opportunities, and irritations are gifts. Help me to see each person who comes across my path as a precious being, and each word spoken between us as an opportunity to love them as You love me. Give me an intentional heart, fully intent on the person in front of me, aware of the moment as ordained and eternally significant.

And if I find myself irritated by the timing as they cross my path, help me remember that the irritation is a gift, showing me that I’m considering myself as more important than others. For when I realize that I’m being self-centered, I’m reminded of how desperately I need Your love and forgiveness.

And when I realize how desperately I need God’s mercy and forgiveness, I’m blown away by His ever-present intentionality toward me. He’s never too busy. He’s never self-absorbed. He’s always wise and kind and loving.

Oh I want to be like Him. I’ll bet you do, too. Today, tomorrow, three weeks from now, I want to arrive intentionally. Not forgetting, but by His Spirit, remembering, and therefore useful for eternity.

Lord, we want to be used by You. We want in each precious life moment to be supernaturally aware and wise, honoring Jesus with our words and actions. We want to see each person in front of us as an eternal soul and each moment as a meaningful instant to be used by You in their lives.

Oh Father, help us.

We want to arrive intentionally.

_____________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

