Jesus’ tomb and our own

Benjamin_Gerritsz._Cuyp_-_The_Angel_Is_Opening_Christ's_Tomb

Jesus is risen!

And because the tomb where his disciples laid his dead body was three days later made empty by the power of God, angels proclaimed that never-before-heard phrase, “He is risen!”

“How different is the epitaph on the tomb of Jesus! It is neither written in gold nor cut in stone. It is spoken by the mouth of an angel and is the exact reverse of what is put on all other tombs:

‘He is not here; for he is risen, as he said.'”

(Billy Graham on Matthew 28:6)

And because Jesus’ tomb is empty, those who die (I Thess. 4:13-18) as His followers also have a new kind of tomb made for them:

“Some day you will read in the papers that Dwight Moody is dead. Don’t you believe a word of it! At that moment I shall be more alive than I am now … I was born of the flesh in 1837; I was born of the Spirit in 1855. That which is born of the flesh may die. That which is born of the Spirit shall live forever.” (Dwight Moody, New York City, August, 1899)

The truth the angels spoke, and the truth Dwight Moody believed, is for you, too, no matter your past, no matter your present:

Martha said to him, “I know that he will rise again in the resurrection on the last day.” Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die. Do you believe this?” (John 11:24-26)

Do you believe this? O this day, believe! Be saved from the curse of, and just judgement for, your sin. Know the everlasting love and mercy of God. Live a life of trust and freedom: a life you were meant to know, freed from fear of your own tomb, freed from slavery to all you thought could bring you happiness yet in the end has only disappointed and enslaved you (Galatians 4:8-9).

“…he said, ‘Sirs, what must I do to be saved?’ And they answered, ‘Believe in the Lord Jesus [as your personal Savior and entrust yourself to Him] and you will be saved…'”(Acts 16:30-31)

This Easter, Jesus, who is the resurrection and the life, offers everlasting life to you. Oh, believe in Him and be saved! For He is risen! Just as He said.

______________________

The Angel is Opening Christ’s Tomb, Benjamin Gerritsz, 1640

___________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

