as a good day (or a bad one) ends

end of a day

At the end of a good day:

“I felt useful today, Lord. Thank you. It was good to be used by You.”

“Yes, child, it’s good that you feel useful. I want you to enjoy moments of usefulness. Now, rest not in your usefulness. Worship not your usefulness. Rest in Me. Worship Me.”

“I felt significant today, Lord. Thank you for giving me moments of joy, moments when I felt You were ministering to Your people through me.”

“Yes, child, you were created to be significant. Now rest in Me. Rejoice that, today, you were part of My plan to bring Jesus glory. Rejoice even more that, no matter your day’s outcome, your name is written in heaven. Bask in my amazing mercy. Now. Rest.”

“Yes, Lord. Eyes off me. Eyes on Jesus.”

At the end of a bad day:

“I felt useless today, Lord.”

“You are never useless, my child. You were created by and through and for Jesus. Your very existence as a saved sinner shines light on His preeminence. That is significance.”

“But I can’t seem to leave this bad day behind, Lord.”

dew in the morning“Leave the day in My arms. I created the day so that you’d feel your need of Me. I want you to know the deep happiness that comes not from a good day but from your unshakable, unearned, always-there relationship with Me. You’re believing that you hold the weight of your world on your shoulders. But I do. You’re believing that your significance derives from your performance. But no. You are more valuable than any up or down day’s conclusion. You are loved with love indescribable. Love abundant and free. Now. Rest. No fear of tomorrow. When you wake, I am here. As dew distills while you sleep, my mercy again abounds.”

“Yes, Lord. I believe. Help my unbelief.”

_______________________________________

 

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God, Jesus and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

