unexpected tragedy and prayer through it

image

A couple nights ago in my town a car filled with young college girls wrecked. Four girls, aged 19 and 20, are no longer alive.

Their moms and dads sent their daughters off to college last August, just as I did my oldest. They shared heartache and joy and listened to stories as their year of college unfolded. They never imagined their precious child would die just as spring semester exams neared. Words can’t explain the shock and sorrow I imagine they’re now feeling.

The unexpected tragedy has ripped their world apart.

I find myself praying fervently for these moms and dads I don’t know. In my weakness, I find myself not knowing how to pray: I ask the Holy Spirit to pray for them, with inexpressible groanings, in harmony with God’s own will  (Rom. 8:26-27).

I also find myself praying fervently for the fallout from their deaths. There’s surely a better word than fallout, but I can’t think of it at the moment. I mean this: The Holy Spirit works beauty from ashes, and I pray He’ll use this tragedy in the lives of thousands. I pray He’ll work in and through the pain for the good of Christians and non-Christians. I pray for non-Christians watching that He’ll work for the ultimate glory of Jesus in their lives.

He does those sorts of things: I know because He did just that in my own life.

The unexpected tragedy I watched unfold centered around a 20-year-old I knew. Her name was Kathy Randall. She’s been in heaven almost 35 years now, as we count time on earth. She’d just finished her sophomore year of college and was spending the summer on a mission project. A mosquito bite infected her with encephalitis, and Kathy died within a week.

I worked at the hospital where she died. I was 19 and lost. I was considering suicide, hopeless, hiding. I wouldn’t have had words to name my inner yearning, but I was desperately searching for life’s meaning. That search would take me overseas, where I was sure I’d find lasting relief and change; but  I’d return home, still the same inside, no lasting hope or sustaining happiness found.

It was not escape from my inner pain, but Kathy’s family’s plunge into excruciating pain, that ultimately spoke. I watched. And even in their tragedy, they were under-girded with quiet hope and peace. They were brokenhearted. They wept for their child. They openly mourned. But in the middle of it all, I, standing watching at the hospital room’s doorway, saw a steady joy and strength I wanted. Mr. and Mrs. Randall, and Kathy’s friends who visited, knew and loved Jesus. They circled her hospital bed, holding hands, praying to a God they really knew was there. I wanted whatever it was they had.

I was born again six months later. Kathy’s parents were the first people I called. I’d become a Christian, and I called to say thank you. I called to say that I knew my new joy didn’t do much at all to relieve their continuing pain, but thank you. I said that I knew any new beauty in my life came from their ashes, so thank you. I cried. They cried. They said thank you.

And that’s what I find myself praying for today: That the tragedy of four beautiful lives unexpectedly ended would result in beauty from ashes, in a joyous blessing out from this mourning; and in heaven someday, festive praise instead of this current despair.

To all who mourn in Israel, he will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair.

Isaiah 61:3

__________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to unexpected tragedy and prayer through it

  1. Kimberly Jeffers says:

    Thank you, Jill, for reminding me of our ever-present Lord in the midst of tragedy. I love you sweet friend.

  2. susanssnyder says:

    I love my remarkable friend – you!

  3. Adam says:

    Jill, thank you for sharing your heart and your story. A mutual friend shared this post on Facebook (I am a UGA grad and a PCA pastor). I was wondering if I might share your testimony in a sermon? I will respect your wishes, in any case, and again, thank you for writing.

    • Jill says:

      Of course you can share, Adam! I’m honored, humbled, happy that you’d want to do so. Where are you a pastor? Were you part of Redeemer/RUF when in Athens?

      • Adam says:

        Thank you! I pastor in the Huntsville, AL area (just north of town) – North Hills PCA. No, regarding Redeemer/RUF. I was a Senior at UGA when RUF started at UGA and so was already highly invested in a campus ministry (WDA). Additionally, I served as the Youth Director at Christ Community Church during that time, as Redeemer was getting started.

  4. Amy Saunders says:

    Amen!! So beautifully written and such words of truth!! My family lived in Watkinsville many years ago…1994-1996. Two of the most blissful years of our lives as my husband always describes them! We owned our first home there and had only 2 young daughters at the time. We attended Christ Presbyterian Church there, Ed Hague was the pastor then. So when this tragedy occurred, it really hit home in more ways than one. I have been praying the same prayer as you and will continue to! Thanks again for sharing!

    • Jill says:

      Amy, We missed each other by a few years (we moved here from Texas in 2000) but probably know some of the same people, as we visited Christ Pres when we first moved to the Athens area, and loved many of the people there. Thank you so much for writing, Amy, and especially for praying!

Leave a Reply

