Is a different set of circumstances the answer?

image

“The secret is Christ in me, not me in a different set of circumstances.”

Elisabeth Elliot wasn’t just fiddling with phrases hoping to create quotable sentences. She was combining for us words from our Lord. Words that redirect our faulty default modes, and our confused ways of thinking. Words that give us, in a universe scrambled with false messages, the astounding secret for gaining contentment:

“And this is the secret: Christ lives in you.”

“My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.”

“I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.”

“The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord.”

So, not you in a different set of circumstances; but Christ in you. That is the astounding secret. That is the answer.

(Quotes from: Elisabeth Elliot (1926-2015), Colossians 1:27, II Corinthians 12:9, Philippians 4:12, Romans 7:25)

__________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is a different set of circumstances the answer?

  1. #hhhigh says:

    I love this.
    The circumstances do not define who I am in Christ rather the Christ’s work define me.
    Please keep up this good work. cant wait for more posts from you.

    please come and check me out. http://www.hhhigh.wordpress.com

  2. Heather Morse says:

    Yes yes yes

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

