a masterpiece walking

image

There can be no higher calling:

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. (Ephesians 2:10)

You, as a Christ-follower, are a work of art. You’re God’s own master work! You’ve been reborn from above, and newly created in Christ Jesus. And in your newness, you’re to walk the  paths which God has prepared and readied for you. They are paths of good works. Good works which He prepared beforehand.

So walk with joy! Walk with expectant intentionality. Walk in prayer. For these are supernatural good works, even though often mundane. You are part of an eternal plan and you need constant guidance: some of the good works will require courage, and some will require patience and perseverance. Walk in joyful prayer.

Walk attuned to His word, praying often for prompting and leading by His Spirit, and excited that you, little you, have been invited to participate in kingdom work. You have the privilege of being part of God’s massive, intricate story.

Two words of caution

Remember this: Because it’s God’s story, when you walk in a good work, guard against thinking or saying “I did so and so for God.” I don’t do something for God. God does something for me. He allows me to be part of His work in the world, so that He might bless me, not the other way around! And this: Don’t say, “Lord, I want to do so and so. Will You bless this activity I’ve planned?” Instead, say, “Lord, what do you want me to do? Show me and I’ll walk in that path.”

Finally, remember that because it’s His story, and He reigns over every outcome, you can walk with courage, freely and boldly!  You can walk ready, alert, and honored as you step into good works prepared beforehand.

For you’re a masterpiece walking.

___________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a masterpiece walking

  1. Pingback: Growing kids, not grass. | Even More Beautiful

Leave a Reply

