We were there, plotting and scheming

475pilate-washes-his-hands-by-james-tissot

Were you there when they crucified my Lord?
Oh, sometimes it causes me to tremble, tremble, tremble.
Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

“‘Were you there when they crucified my Lord?’ the old spiritual asks. And we must answer, ‘Yes, we were there.’ Not as spectators only, but as participants, guilty participants, plotting, scheming, betraying, bargaining and handing him over to be crucified. We may try to wash our hands of responsibility like Pilate. But our attempt will be as futile as his. For there is blood on our hands.

Before we can see the cross as something done for us (leading us to faith and worship), we have to see it as something done by us (leading us to repentance).”

John Stott, The Cross of Christ (emphasis mine)

__________________________

Hymn: Were You There, first published in William Barton’s Old Plantation Hymns, 1899

Painting: Pilate Washes His Hands, James Tissot

___________________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

