moving heaven and earth

IMG_3760

“…grace means God’s love in action towards men who merited the opposite of love. Grace means God moving heaven and earth to save sinners who could not lift a finger to save themselves…drawing us sinners closer and closer to Himself…Grace means God sending his only Son to the cross to descend into hell so that we guilty ones might be reconciled to God and received into heaven.” (J.I. Packer, Knowing God)

“For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will hardly die for a righteous man; though perhaps for the good man someone would dare even to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:6-8)

Reasons for simultaneous awe, deep mourning, and humbled rejoicing this Easter:

  • God actively moves in love toward me. Toward me who has only earned the opposite of His love.
  • He moves heaven and earth to save me — when I can’t lift a finger to save myself.
  • He purposes to draw me, undeserving-sinner-me, closer and closer to Himself.
  • He sent Jesus to the cross to descend into hell so that I could be made right with Him; so that I could be received into heaven when my earthly body dies.
  • This is life-changing grace. Humbling, heaven-and-earth moving grace. This is marvelous grace!

Marvelous grace of our loving Lord,
Grace that exceeds our sin and our guilt!
Yonder on Calvary’s mount outpoured,
There where the blood of the Lamb was spilled.
Grace, grace, God’s grace,
Grace that will pardon and cleanse within;
Grace, grace, God’s grace,
Grace that is greater than all our sin!

Grace Greater than our Sin, by Julia H. Johnston, 1910

“He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.”

(II Corinthians 5:22)

________________________________________________________________________

About Jill

I'm a wife, mom to three beautiful children, and currently work at two jobs for which I'm very grateful -- part-time at my kids' school, and as children's ministry director at Redeemer PCA in Athens, GA, a place our family treasures as our church home. It's been thirty years since the Lord saved me, and to this day I'm astounded at His steadfast love shed upon unfaithful me. My hope would be that I might speak and write in ways God would use to soften hearts toward Him, that we would together be enamored by the glorious beauty of Jesus and awakened to His love unimagined. Thanks so much for reading!
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

